NSG PUBLIC STATEMENT NSG PLENARY MEETING CAPE TOWN, 19-20 APRIL 2007

The seventeenth Plenary Meeting of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) took place in Cape Town on 19 and 20 April 2007. The meeting was chaired by Ambassador Abdul Samad Minty, Special Representative for Disarmament, who also delivered a message from Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, Minister of Foreign Affairs, on behalf of the Government of the Republic of South Africa.

The aim of the NSG, which currently has 45 Participating Governments, and the European Commission as a permanent observer, is to prevent the proliferation of nuclear weapons through the implementation on a national basis of export controls of nuclear and nuclear-related material, equipment, software and technology, without hindering international cooperation on peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

The next regular Plenary Meeting of the NSG will take place in 2008 in the Federal Republic of Germany.

Cape Town, 20 April 2007

¹ Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Republic Of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, and United States.