PRESS STATEMENT OF NUCLEAR SUPPLIERS MEETING

MEETING OF STATES ADHERING TO THE NUCLEAR SUPPLIERS GUIDELINES.

A meeting took place in Warsaw, Poland on March 31 - April 3, 1992 of the states adhering to the Nuclear Suppliers Guidelines. These twenty seven countries *) met to review current supplier arrangements and to consider further ways and means to strengthen the Nuclear Non-Proliferation regime, with particular emphasis on the Nuclear Suppliers Guidelines published by the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Information Circular 254 (INFCIRC 254).

The participants adopted the most important export control initiative of recent years. At the 1991 suppliers meeting there was a recognition of the growing problems posed by the potential use of nuclear-related dual-use materials, equipment and technology in unor in nuclear weapons programs. programs safequarded nuclear Following a year of intensive negotiations, the participants adopted a comprehensive arrangement to control the export of these items. The arrangement, which consists of a set of guidelines and a list of some 65 items to be controlled, will be incorporated into the Nuclear Suppliers Guidelines. They accepted the offer of Japan to serve as a Point-of-Contact for administering through its Permanent Mission to IAEA in Vienna - the nuclear-related dual-use arrangement. With the successful completion of this important initiative, a significant gap in the international nuclear export control regime has been filled.

(

68 - - :

A further major outcome of the Warsaw meeting was a declaration by all participants of a common policy of requiring the application of fullscope IAEA safeguards to all current and future nuclear activities as a necessary condition for all significant, new nuclear exports to non-nuclear weapon states.

In exceptional cases, the transfers of items essential for the safe operation of existing facilities may take place to non-nuclear weapon states where fullscope safeguards are not accepted, if safeguards are applied to these facilities. The participants appealed to all states which export nuclear facilities, equipment, components, material or technology to adopt the same policy.

÷

commitment to preventing the participants reaffirmed their strong The further spread of nuclear weapons which represents a grave threat to the peace and security of the world. They also reaffirmed the importance of the IAFA system of safequards as a crucial element for ensuring the peaceful uses of nuclear energy. The participants agreed that enhanced reporting of nuclear material, relevant equipment and certain non-nuclear material transfers should be actively pursued within the IAEA as a means of supporting the Agency's safequards program. There was a recognition by all participants of the need to ensure that supplier cooperation does not contribute directly or indirectly to nuclear proliferation, as well as the need to ensure that commercial competition does not compromise their mutually shared non-proliferation objectives. The participants also affirmed their intention to support the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

The participants urged all non-nuclear weapon states which have not already done so, to make an international legally-binding commitment to place all of their nuclear activities under IAFA safeguards.

All supplier countries were invited by the participants to adhere to the Nuclear Suppliers Guidelines, which is the most widely adhered to export control regime. Further, the participants made a special appeal to the new states which have emerged from the former Soviet Union who have not yet done so, to accede to the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty as non-nuclear weapon states, to adopt IAEA fullscope safeguards, and to implement effective nuclear export controls through adherence to the Nuclear Suppliers Guidelines. In this connection they welcomed the presents of Ukraine as an observer at the Warsaw NSG meeting.

The participants agreed upon the need for regular consultations and decided to convene another meeting within the next year.

- 2 -

(

^{*)} Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech and Slovak, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, and the United States of America