NUCLEAR SUPPLIERS GROUP PLENARY MEETING PARIS, 22-23 JUNE 2000

PRESS STATEMENT

The 2000 Plenary meeting of the Nuclear Suppliers Group (NSG) was held in Paris, France, on 22-23 June. The meeting was chaired by Mr. Philippe Thiébaud, Governor for France to the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), Director for International Affairs at the French Atomic Energy Commission (CEA). Mr. Gerard ERRERA, Permanent Undersecretary for Political and Security Affairs, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, France, made introductory remarks on behalf of the French Government.

The aim of the NSG, which has 38 Member States* and the European Commission as permanent observer, is to prevent the proliferation of nuclear weapons through export controls of nuclear and nuclear-related material, equipment, software and technology, without hindering international cooperation on peaceful uses of nuclear energy. The Plenary agreed that the activities of the Group continued to fulfil this aim and that the Group's contribution is all the more valuable today in the face of renewed threats of nuclear proliferation.

The admission of Belarus, Cyprus and Turkey to the Group was welcomed. Slovenia attended the Plenary as an observer.

In accordance with the "Principles and Objectives for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament" adopted at the 1995 NPT Review and Extension Conference, and with the final document adopted at the 2000 NPT Review Conference, the Group agreed to continue its efforts to promote greater transparency and openness in NSG activities, in particular towards non-members, with further initiatives including the establishment of a NSG web site.

The NSG agrees that the provisions of the IAEA model Additional Protocol will strengthen the nuclear safeguards regime and facilitate the exchange of nuclear and nuclear related material in peaceful nuclear cooperation. The NSG encourages all States which have not yet done so, to conclude such Additional Protocols as soon as possible and to bring them into force.

The NSG agreed on the importance, in working to prevent nuclear proliferation, of keeping pace with technological development. Issues, such as intangible technology transfer, were increasingly becoming areas of concern, and needed further addressing.

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Slovak Republic, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America.

^{*} Members of the Nuclear Suppliers Group are:

The NSG mandated the Chair to pursue contacts with non-member States and in particular Kazakhstan and Slovenia as possible candidates for membership, with a view of taking an intersessional decision on membership of the latter, which was already an observer at the 2000 Paris Plenary.

Paris, 23 June 2000.